Last of the weekly reviews

Let’s see if I can do this in two sentences each while definitely including spoilers.

Amazing Spider-Man #689: Very good story, decent art, bad cover.  I like where this is going.

Ultimate Comics Spider-Man #12:  I must have been a fool, but it never occurred to me that Miles’ uncle was going to die like both Peters’ uncles died.  I’m a little embarrassed I like this a tad more than Amazing.

A vs. X #7:  Namor is a weird character to me.  I haven’t understood him since I came back to comics and found him relatively prominent in the X-Men.  He goes crazy and I think might be cruising for a bruising.

Uncanny X-Men #15: Mr. Sinister is cool, but I don’t get what he’s doing or how he’s doing it or how he’s going to beat the Phoenix.  I like the story, but I feel like I’m missed the first three chapters of a 10 chapter story.

Dial H #3: This keeps getting weirder, stranger, and awesomer every month.

Captain Victory #6:  A fantastic series that got rushed out the door in a hurry-up effort to close it.  A great six issue run.

Thief of Thieves #6:  Maybe better as a trade than monthly, and this issue was very light on content, but still a great series.  Limited in the fact I don’t think you could pick it up without knowing the background and read it, which seems to be a limiting factor in creating a monthly comic.  I don’t mind buying monthly to support my favorite writers, but when it’s blatantly written for trades, I sort of ponder my decisions.

Leave a Reply

