Uncanny Avengers (1-17)

I found the first two hardcover trades at least weekends local show for $5 a piece and then the third trade at the library, so I gave this a whirl.

It was. . . something. I’m not sure I liked it. I know I didn’t love it – I picked up the first two issues when they first came out and dropped the series. However, this run by Remender is the following: Huge. In scope, in story, in action. All without it being an event. It’s massive. It’s got Kang and time travel and the Apocalypse Twins and they’re pawns/in charge trying to get all the mutants away from humanity. Not in a bad way.

It ends up bad, and after seventeen issues, well, it’s a whole new world. It’s its own little mini-series/event except it’s been going on for a year and a half and there’s no resolution in sight. Remender has created this mammoth alternate reality that is really pretty compelling and a lot of fun. It’s going to take about 5 more months for another trade to come out, but I’ll get it. This is a fun series.

Leave a Reply

